Advice on Spanish language schools

Neilcampbell31

Registered
Hello everyone,

I am arriving in January from London and am looking to sign up to a Spanish school for 10-14 weeks in Buenos Aires. Does anyone have any good recommendations? I am a beginner so I have chosen schools over the one-to-one option as it would be cheaper at my level.

The school that seem viable so far :

Expanish (US$195 per week) http://www.expanish.com/
Pro - 12% reduction in price break if booking >10 weeks of classes, good website, seems well established, 20 hours per week, good focus on socializing.
Cons - No mention of homework, could be expensive

International House (US$200 per week) http://ih-buenosaires.com/index.php
Pros - it's a known brand, same place to do a CELTA, the course seems well structured and international language benchmarks
Cons - expensive and only 15 hours per week, poor information on their website

Any advice (esp. on prices!) would be really helpful!

Thanks guys,

Neil

Hey there,

going with the schools will always be a more expensive option. I learn in a small private group class, with a fantastic teacher, in a beautiful flat in Recoleta. We are all here for over 6 months, so there will be very little turn around on students.

The classes go from 10:45am-12:45am monday to friday, and costs USD$125 a week. Lunch is included (we make our own empanadas)

Our teacher always offers a free 1st class to make sure you feel good with the class. Let me know if this is of interest and ill put you in contact.

Best wishes

I recommend contacting both schools and asking a lot of questions! This way you can see how professional their responses are. I also recommend waiting until you get to Buenos Aires and then visiting schools in person before deciding. It is always easier to decide after seeing things with your own eyes.