An apology to the Golden Arches

nledec

Registered
I ate at McDonald's as a kid, but before moving to Argentina I hadn't been through their doors in a good 25 years.
My kids had never been to McDonald's before coming here either, and I imagine I was a bit smug about that.
However, we now eat at the Golden Arches about once a week, and I'd be lying if I said we didn't really enjoy it.
It isn't a matter of nostalgia or homesickness that gets us through the door either.
No matter where you go in the city you get your meal quickly and the product is always consistent.
The food has flavor and in my experience has always seemed fresh and of a decent quality.
It is cheap. No, not cheap when compared to McDonald's in the States, but cheap for Buenos Aires considering you can get a drink, main, & side for around 40 pesos give or take depending on what you order plus dessert for 15 pesos more.
I'm a very good cook, extremely picky about my ingredients, and completely open-minded and adventurous about restaurants (if I do say so myself...). I've eaten all over BA from dives to the highest end of the spectrum. I've had meals that were fairly good, but I have yet to have a meal that truly impresses me.
No, I'm not saying that McD's is should be up for Michelins .
I'm just saying the food situation in BA (whether you are eating out or cooking at home) has been close to the biggest disappointment about life here for me (believe me, that is saying something!), and in that context I have been pleasantly surprised to find how much I could appreciate a Quarter Pounder with cheese.
I doubt the CEO of McDonald's has been loosing sleep over my opinion, but I anyway want to offer a long overdue apology for looking down my nose at the Golden Arches for so many years.

enjoy your grease. As far as i am concerned, there are a lot of good restaurants to choose from - admittedly not much selection when it comes to vegetables - but a lot better than MACDONALD