Anyone else having problems getting dollars in?

Jerry Nelson

Registered
As a freelance writer, I have clients globally. Each pays Fiverr (my source of work) and Fiverr pays me through Payoneer which does a direct deposit to the bank.

Once I find out the total sent, (Payoneer) has to subtract their fees, I have to file a form with the bank here. 72-96 hours later, I can go pick up my money.

Anyone else having problems getting dollars in?

Have you heard about the new rules brought in by the Central Bank a couple of weeks ago? I'm in the same boat, I work for clients in other countries.

Basically, you cannot get dollars, euros, etc any more as all the money you send to your Argentinian bank account is now automatically changed to pesos. I'm still trying to get my funds released after making a transfer to my bank (Galicia), but a week has passed with no news. It's all very frustrating.

Have you heard about the new rules brought in by the Central Bank a couple of weeks ago? I'm in the same boat, I work for clients in other countries.

Basically, you cannot get dollars, euros, etc any more as all the money you send to your Argentinian bank account is now automatically changed to pesos. I'm still trying to get my funds released after making a transfer to my bank (Galicia), but a week has passed with no news. It's all very frustrating.

Thanks for the response, and yeah. Ran head-on into the same new rules Thursday.

Any idea what happens if the dollars are changed into pesos by Payoneer and then pesos are deposited?

I’m not sure exactly what is going on but just don’t be surprised when it gets worse. Yes, they will take your dollars, force you to change them into pesos, devalue them and then limit how much you can take out. See 2001. Plus, Cristina is coming back. It’s all coming back. Prepare yourself.

Yeah. My wife is Argentine (born and raised in BA) and she's told me about the problems of 2001 and I believe she said something about 2010 or so.