Bars in Recoleta

studentinrecoleta

Registered
Hey guys,

I'm a student living in Recoleta, a bit to the south. Can anyone recommend any nearby bars? I googled bars in BA, walked to it, and found a bunch of older people drinking wine and eating pasta.

Also, how much does alcohol cost here? Do you recommend bars for locals or for internationals?

Lastly, as a young female, is it dangerous for me to go out alone? I assume it's fine, but thought it best to do the tourist thing and ask.

Thanks!

Actually, the study abroad program for Argentina at my school is really small this year - only me. I've only been to one orientation at the UBA, and am doing a homestay so I haven't met many students. Anyway, I googled and saw there are some along Vicente Lopez near the cemetery.

Anyone else have reviews/ideas? Looks like there's also a place called Remember El Alamo, which sounds pretty American.

Rock & Beer!! Las Heras 2110. I'd save it for when you make a few friends though, it's more of a "go-with-a-group" kind of bar. When I was a student we also always went to The Spot, it's a younger scene with a lot of locals. Ayacucho 1261. Have fun!

Thought of some more: Kilkenny (Marcelo T. Alvear 399), Jack the Ripper (Libertad 1275) and if you feel like meeting expats, El Alamo (Uruguay 1175).

Hey studentinrecoleta, tonight is not a good night to go out because elections are tomorrow and lots of bars are closed.

But here's some bars in Recoleta, with a brief description:

El Alamo: yanks and foreigners show up here a lot, but there are a lot of younger locals any day of the week. One of the few places in BA that's like a US bar. People seem to either love it or hate it.

Shamrock: Bar upstairs and small boliche downstairs. Nice spot to dance without the hassle of clubbing. I'd recommend this place as it's not quite the packed insanity of the Alamo.