Bicycles in BA

artigas

Registered
Can anyone recommend a good basic all purpose city bicycle to buy? I am about 1.9 meters, so I need a bike with a large sized frame, and I would be happy with basic gearing and breaking. Also any recommendations as to any particular bike shops in BA?

I'm sorry I'm no bike expert but I can recommend the bike shop in Junin and Sarmiento, they've been there for ages and cater for all sorts of cyclists, even professionals. BTW, cool nickname! ;)

artigas said:
Can anyone recommend a good basic all purpose city bicycle to buy? I am about 1.9 meters, so I need a bike with a large sized frame, and I would be happy with basic gearing and breaking. Also any recommendations as to any particular bike shops in BA?

I've bought some accessories in a bicycle shop on Scalabrini Ortiz (1600 I think). I liked the attitude of the owner and the quality of the things I bought there.

Try Bicicletas Orense
Paraguay 4718
4774-6293

Or, if you want something more upscale, try Rewind/Monochrome. They're in the 5900 block of Nicaragua. Pricey, but they'll make you one to order. Cheers.

This makes me think: I'm considering buying a bicycle and I'm wondering if anyone has any insight into the Argentine cycling culture: it feels more dangerous than in the US but is it? Any recommendations?

Hi artigas & MorganF,

I've been cycling throughout Cap.Fed for 2+ years, typically 3-5 times a week on streets and sometimes bikepaths. I can't recommend a particular bikeshop but instead want to pass on some general pointers: