Bilingual journalist seeking teaching/editing/writing positions

lahawkinses

Registered
I'm a 27-year old from New England planning to arrive in the City in mid-September with two friends with similar credentials. We'll be seeking positions in ESL teaching. I also, ideally, would like to find a position editing or writing at an English language publication.

I've worked for 2 years as a journalist - one year of occasional freelancing feature pieces for a media conglomerate, one year working a local government beat for a local paper, along with business, tourism-oriented features, and crime stories.

I have privately tutored individuals from China in ESL, and participated in a language exchange with two speakers from Venezuela.

I have a degree in English from Keene State College, and worked for 2 years as Periodicals Supervisor in their Library.

I've taken 6 years of Spanish classes in Middle and High School, 2 years in College, have continually independently studied, and am fluent.

Any opportunities or advice those reading this post can point me toward would be greatly appreciated!

I can be reached at [email protected].

Welcome to the forum!

You should do a search of the forum. The topic of teaching English is covered in detail in various threads. I don't have any experience teaching English here, but it doesn't seem to be the best place in the world in terms of pay.

I do work as a (technical) writer, but was transferred here by a software company, who went through all of the visa process. That will be your biggest challenge. The main (only?) English-language newspaper is the Buenos Aires Herald. I've know a few expats who've tried to work their over the years, but without a visa, I don't think it's likely. They mostly hire locals, which is obvious from reading the articles.