Bringing Over Electronics From The States

jamasVamos

Registered
Joined
Jul 25, 2014
Messages
9
Likes
0
I'm carrying with me a couple of laptops and cell phones and I understand that Argentina uses a different outlet for their electronics. Can anyone point me in the direction of where to buy converters, what types of converters I will need? And will it be a problem carrying around these converters to different cafes in Capital. Thanks!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2012
Messages
173
Likes
44
Assuming you're coming from the states, don't buy converters, you don't need them. Wait till you get here and just buy an adapter ($1 - $1.50) on many street corners.

30330.jpg
 

scotttswan

Registered
Joined
Apr 16, 2010
Messages
3,715
Likes
3,541
Assuming you're coming from the states, don't buy converters, you don't need them. Wait till you get here and just buy an adapter ($1 - $1.50) on many street corners.

30330.jpg

Not always, its important to check that your electronic device can handle 220 volts before putting it in one of those... whilst most can, there's still a few out there that can't.
 

nlaruccia

Registered
Joined
Jan 5, 2010
Messages
2,005
Likes
1,432
Check the plug of the computer and if it can handle 220 volts than you just buy an adapter when you get here. If not, buy a converter at any airport.
 

Desde2008

Registered
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
174
Likes
59
Check the plug of the computer and if it can handle 220 volts than you just buy an adapter when you get here. If not, buy a converter at any airport.

Checking that it can handle 220 volts is key or you will be start to smell the odor of burning electronics that will be beyond repair as soon as you plug it in.
 

GS_Dirtboy

Registered
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
2,495
Likes
4,314
Checking that it can handle 220 volts is key or you will be start to smell the odor of burning electronics that will be beyond repair as soon as you plug it in.

... followed closely by a loud "BANG" as the power box explodes inside your PC. When I first came here I assumed that my PC was 100-240v. Wrong. :(
 
Top