BsAs Project: Audio Piece/Photo Essay Mar 26-Apr 5th

nobu

Registered
Hello, I'm going to be in BsAs from March 26th to April 5th.

I'm a freelance artist living and working out of Toronto, Canada. My current project is to produce a seven minute audio piece/photo essay about my trip to BsAs, talking to a wide variety of people about how to survive in a time of recession. I only speak English but currently sourcing a number of translators to help out with conversations. (If you are one, please let me know, as the more I have available, the better)

I am tracking down people who would be interested in speaking with me. Or people who know people. Some more info:

This is NOT a journalistic piece. It's a first-person story about a freelance artist (me) who is out of work from his regular job (making television), finding it difficult to find work because of a harsh economic climate. I head to BsAs where I have a bunch of conversations with people from all walks of life. The conversations take me all over the city, and surrounding area, where I record snippets of these talks and take lots of pictures. I am really looking for local colour, and insight. The audio and photos are edited down, put together, uploaded to the web and presented as an interactive piece.

I'd love to talk with you if...

-you are a professional from a different country, hanging out in BsAs to wait out the recession. Because of the economic situation, you've decided to step out of the grind and wait it out in an exotic city.

-the recession has forced you to totally rethink your vocation and change your life.

-you know a young Argentinean who is entering the work force, and trying to figure out his/her place in it. What is possible?

-you know someone who was involved in organizing, on an administrative level, or heavily traded with the Trueque clubs of the early 00's.

-you know or are a therapist who has worked over the past decade in BsAs.