Commuting From Palermo To Pilar

Jenna B

Registered
Hi there, I'm a 27-year-old medical student from New Zealand, and I am in the process of organising a 6-week medical elective in Buenos Aires for 2014. The company through which I'm doing this is placing me in Austral University Hospital in Pilar, and they are also organising accommodation for me in Palermo. Is this daily commute going to be sustainable, or would I be better off trying to find a furnished apartment in Pilar? Would this actually be possible - is short-term furnished apartment rental available in Pilar? Note that my accommodation in Palermo is included in the package, so additional accommodation will come at an additional cost.

Also, if I decide to stay in Palermo and commute, is the San Martín line really as dangerous as I have heard? I will not have access to a car, so I will be fully reliant on public transport.

Thanks for your advice! :)

Enjoy Palermo, take the 1 hour plus ride on the 57 Preferencial bus from Plaza Italia. Bus leaves every 15 minutes. It's comfortable, quiet and you can sleep at ease.

Stopped using the train after a string of incidents,

Take the 57. The San Martin is not as dangerous as people make it out to be but its definitely worse than the a/c equipped bus

Stay in palermo and take the bus ride.

If you are a home person and not fond of socializing or going out, stay in pilar and save 2 hours journey daily.

Take the 57. The San Martin is not as dangerous as people make it out to be but its definitely worse than the a/c equipped bus

I almost shot 5 guys one early morning. That's why I stopped using it.
Was headed to Pilar around 8-9 am and girl riding with me were the only passengers in the coach a couple of stations before Pilar when a group of loud punks boarded.
I could barely understand what they were saying loudly to each other and first thought they were deaf.