Expat Documentary Film

arielw2001

Registered
(I just posted this in the Newcomers section...but I thought it made more sense to put it here instead...so sorry for the duplication!)

Greetings to everyone at baexpats.org!

My name is Ariel Enrique Wapnir...and I am filmmaker here in Los Angeles that is planning to move to BsAs in February. Although I am a native Porteno...I've lived in the United States since I was 4 years old...so the fact that I am coming back home...may or may not disqualify me as a future Expat for many of you!

I am currently in pre-production on a documentary entitled, LEAVING AMERICA, which will begin filming in March in BsAs!

I was in BsAs in October for a couple weeks pre-interviewing many American expats. I hope to speak with more expats in here...and I'm also looking to speak any Americans who are still in the US but plan on moving to Argentina in the near future!

Since this is my first time here...I'm not sure if it is appropriate to discuss too much about the project...so I'll leave a brief overview here for now...in the hope that some of you will wish to contact me to share your stories! Who knows...you could end up in our film??

Is America no longer the Land of Opportunity?

While the United States has been going thru economic, social & political upheavals not seen since the Great Depression...Argentina is in the midst of a new wave of immigration that is helping make the country one of the few economic bright spots in the world today.

According to the US Consulate in Argentina, since over 50,000 Amercians are currently registered with them, they estimate that there could be as many as 200,000 living in the country today! Unlike the better known Expat destinations that have always been magnets for American retirees, Argentina is attracting a younger, educated demographic in their 20's & 30's.