For Those Waiting For Their Dnis

sesamosinsal

Registered
Hello everyone,

So, today I finally organized a day off work to go look for the piece of plastic that says I'm a resident in Argentina. I wanted to post about my experience here to help any of you who find yourselves in a similar situation to avoid the same problems that I had today.

For months, I've been monitoring my case via the website. The online case tracker throws this information up when I search for my case:
flecha.gif
Expediente:
xxxx
flecha.gif
Fecha de Nacimiento:
xxxx
flecha.gif
Apellido/s:
xxxx
flecha.gif
Nombre/s:
xxxx
flecha.gif
Estado
: Su trámite fue resuelto el 29/05/2013
flecha.gif
Disposición:
xxx
flecha.gif
Delegación:
SEDE CENTRAL - Av. Antártida Argentina 1355
flecha.gif
Enviado a CENTRO DE DOC. Y ARCHIVO (Deptos. Dep. De La Inst. Sup. - Direccion General De Administracion)

So, from that, I just assumed that they were still taking their sweet time to send it to me. I never received any notice that they had attempted to deliver it to me, and their (erroneous) computer system said that the "location" — of what exactly? I just assumed it to be my DNI — was some obscure department of DNM down in Retiro.

Tired of waiting, I went there this morning, and asked. At "Informes" (Building 6), they told me that I needed to go to Hipólito Yrigoyen 952. They gave me a piece of paper with the address, and the hours: 8 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. It was 12:30 or so, and I thought, great, I'll go down there and see if it's there.