Free or Cheap Spanish Classes in BA

lucha54

Registered
hey all,
I lived here from August-November last year and took classes with a private tutor for 60 pesos/hour, once a week. I studied a lot online, including lots of slang and lunfardo :) and practiced as much as I could. Now I'm back, after 2 months away, and dating an Argy who speaks perfect English, and have not resumed classes, and I'm speaking English most of the time. Very lazy, I know.

I'm looking to get back in to Spanish classes for the cheapest way possible.
I know that UBA has classes for cheap (when you do the math it comes out to about 20 pesos/class). I want to take classes at their Centro Armenio location to save me the trip downtown, but for now, I only see bimestral (two month) classes for April/May. I'm going on holiday next week and would like to start with those classes if they have bimestral offerings for anytime in May/June/July. Does anyone know anything about this? Any first-hand experiences?

Then a friend mentioned today that her French boyfriend is doing FREE(!) classes at the local high school. Just like high schools in the states, there are high schools here (the one in question was in Recoleta) that offer 'adult education' -type courses. Cooking, dancing, whatever, AND language classes!! Including Spanish for foreigners. She told me to ask around to the high schools in my neighborhood, but I thought I'd start here.

I'm in Las Cañitas and could go for anything in this or the Belgrano or Alto Palermo/ Palermo Viejo neighborhoods. Any leads? I want group classes. No private Spanish schools (unless their prices can compete with UBA's). Sorry if I sound cheap but well, ya know...

Thanks for your help if you have any leads for me!!

~Lucha