Getting from Buenos Aires to Bariloche

hutch85

Registered
Hello all,

My name is Patrick Hutchison. I am a writer currently living in Seattle, Washington with plans to move to Bariloche at the beginning of February. I will be flying into Buenos Aires on the morning of January 6th and was hoping someone could help me out with some information on getting to Bariloche. Originally, I anticipated flying but soon found out how expensive it would be, opting to take a bus instead. However, from this forum I have heard great results of booking and checking in for your flight online to get a discounted residency rate. In light of this I have a few questions about getting from Buenos Aires to Bariloche.

1. Should I expect a price difference between buying a bus ticket online and buying it in person at the station?
  2. How quickly do buses fill up? i.e. If I arrive at the bus station three hours before my desired departure time, can I expect to find availability?
  3. How much time would I need to get from Newbery airport to the bus station and purchase a ticket?
  4. Given a small price difference, would you recommend the plane or the bus? I realize how much quicker the plane is, but I have heard incredible stories of the bus journey.
Thank you for any information you can provide.

Hi Patrick,

1: same price
2: In January they probably fill up a few days in advance maybe 3 or 4 days. If you want the choice of company and seat then book in advance. The buses 'cama', 'semi cama' are 3 seats across, so 2 together and a single, I always try and get the singles.
3: A couple of days! see number '2'. The taxi ride between the two is about 20 mins, allow at least and hour for delays and finding the right ticket booth.
4: This only applies if you check-in online and don't have any hold baggage, the moment you check your luggage in your will be caught out, so just take hand luggage and ship the rest: