Getting Work In Ba

Kmadair

Registered
Hello,

I am planning to move to Argentina in October 2013 and teach English. I am getting my TEFL certification to help with the job search. However, I have been reading posts from other blog sites that it is actually very difficult to get a teaching job. I will have money saved to live for about 3 months without a job, but I am worried now that despite working hard to find a job I won't be able to.

If anyone reads this and has some true insight, please share! I welcome tips and advice! I am beyond excited about this opportunity, but I want to be realistic.

Thank you!

Katie A.

P.S. Also, if anyone reads this and knows of a good place that will be hiring - I am hard working, fluent in English and beginner in Spanish, a good teacher, professional, and TEFL certified!

Hi Katie,
As a former ESL teacher I would say that the problem is not so much getting a job, but making enough to make ends meet in Buenos Aires. The cost of living is rising rapidly and your pesos will be worth less each month.
Also, take into account that Oct is pretty much the end of the year for hiring unless you happen upon a situation where a teacher is leaving and drops all of his or her students onto your lap. This does happen at times.
You are more likely to find something in Feb or March that will last throughout the year.
Sometimes there are jobs working in English summer camps so that might be an option in the off season for teaching.
You can always pick up some private students which can more or less supplement your income, but can also be hit and miss with lots of last-minute cancellations.

Best of luck!

Get better at Spanish. A lot of owners of language schools prefer to speak in Spanish, and some students speak very little English.