Hello! ...and a thousand questions about moving to BA

blanning

Registered
Hello. My name is Brian. My wife and I are seriously considering leaving the US. I've lived out of the country before and traveled all over the world, and would like my children to have that experience. I've never been to Argentina, although I've known a few people from BA over the years. So Argentina is near the top of the list. I have a lot of questions though.

I'm an IT consultant in the chicago area at the moment. Ideally, I'd like to find what we would call a permanent salaried position in BA. I have 20 years of experience writing and designing complicated software systems, and a BS in computer science.

I need to work out the procedure for finding a job and moving. We're going to sell everything here and start from scratch there. So the plan is to move as little stuff as possible. Ideally though, I'd like to find something like those PODS and have it shipped there.

I'm just starting to do research about BA and the surrounding area. So I have no idea what the work situation is like there, where to live, etc. I'm expecting to make less than I make here. But obviously I need to end up with something sustainable.

Here's the complicated part... we have 9 kids ranging in age from 4 to 19. We'll have two adult children that would come with us. So whatever living arrangement we end up with would need to support that. I'm willing to think outside the box, like renting two apartments instead of one. But obviously the income would need to support that.

So here's some questions:

What is the work visa process for argentina?

Where would a software development job likely be in BA, and based on what I've said, what would be a reasonable part of town to find a place to live? We're willing to be a little austere, but safety is important. And we generally prefer longer commutes to get more indoor and outdoor space farther out.