How Much Does A Teacher At A Private School Earn?

Girino

Registered
Not necessarily an English teacher, let's say a math teacher native in English at an English private school (high school).
I suppose they don't work 40 hours a day, so I don't expect a lot.

Some rough figure would be okay. Thanks!

Hi, Serafina!

I am part of a Facebook group, Profesores de Ingles de la Republica Argentina (https://www.facebook.com/groups/eltargentina/). Although I cannot personally help you regarding your question, I am certain that several people from that group could give you useful answers. Hope that you find it helpful!

-Violet

(PS- Keep in mind that all teachers in all schools have a pay raise coming for the next academic year in 2015!)

I just asked to join the group, though I am not an English teacher. I hope I will be able to find an answer here or there.
Thank you!

I'm not sure about public school teaching, but I worked as an English teacher during my first 2-3 years here in BA. Let's just say, I wouldn't recommend this job to people who don't have savings and/or don't have a real passion for teaching.

What I would recommend is teaching online and getting paid in dollars. I teach online on the side and that extra cash is really nice at the end of each month :)

I do have a freelance online job which I don't intend to quit. I just really need to dive into Buenos Aires and its people, living and working from home is kind of isolating after a while.

Therefore I don't plan to live on teaching. Ideally, I'd like something part-time in a private high school.
If individual Spanish lessons at a language school are about 200 ARS/hour, I suppose a hard science teacher could ask twice as much, but this is just my guess.

I do have a freelance online job which I don't intend to quit. I just really need to dive into Buenos Aires and its people, living and working from home is kind of isolating after a while.