How To Find A Good Tefl Job In Ba?

Natasha_1234

Registered
Hi, I'm Natasha from the UK and I'm desperately trying to find a TEFL job in Buenos Aires. I've got over 6 years teaching experience so thought it shouldn't be so hard but I've found it really hard to find jobs in BA, especially ones that are full time and ok paid. Does anyone have any advice on where to find jobs other than tefl.com and eslcafe. I'm hoping to head out there in August 2014 - would prefer to have found a job before then online, but worst case scenario I would have to find one out there which is a pretty scary thought as wouldn't even know how long to get a visa or where to stay.

Any advice, greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

I would be looking at the private schools although most of them have already hired for a year. Generally the best paying full time employers, if you have 6 years of experience that's where I'd be looking.

I'd say you are about 15 years too late to find a good paying job teaching English. There are jobs, but few pay well enough to

support a decent standard of living in BA right now unless you are willing to live an extremely spartan life.

I taught from 1991-1996 and got by very well working part time.

The people I envied at the time worked at International House and were well paid and had benefits and housing.

I am a Software Engineer who is interested in taking English classes with a native English teacher on Saturdays during 2 hours and seems to me there are no many "real" native English teachers here. I have been working for an american company from BA serving as a Project Manager/Developer during the last 7 years.

I doubt you are going to get a well paid full-time job in an Argentinean English Institute, also bureaucracy does not help for foreigner workers. I took lessons with an English teacher from California, she did not get as many students as she wanted, however your advantage seems to be that you own a TEFL degree.