In Need Of Maternity Pants

Vagrant Violet

Registered
Hi, everyone! My Argentine husband and I are expecting our first in mid-April (we just found out that it will be a little boy!). So far, everything has gone fairly smoothly. In terms of clothes, however, I am barely getting by, but even by now I can't wear my regular jeans and some other go-to basics anymore. Before this gets too out of hand, does anyone know of a place where I could buy a couple of pairs of basic maternity pants? Preferably as close to Nunez/Belgrano as possible. I'm traveling for a bit in January back to Ohio, but I'm NOT going to make it until then! I work in a school full time (so I need to be practical/comfortable) but where I also need a relatively professional look.

Considering that these will be clothes that I'll only be using for a very limited time, and considering how absurdly expensive everything is here to begin with, I cringe at thinking how much just two pairs of pants (and maybe a decent shirt) could set me back. Two weeks ago, I went to Planeta BB with my husband just to get an idea of what we will eventually need... The prices scared and disayed me (for necessities such as a basic-model stroller! They were all so expensive, but I wouldn't even trust them to carry my cat, let alone my firstborn, they look so poorly made!). I left convinced that I have no other option but to just carry this baby in my arms 24/7 until he is ready for kindergarten!!! We'll see...

Anyways, snother complication is that in the US, I am a relatively average sized-woman (157cm/5'2" and about a US size 14), but I carry it well. Not suprisingly, my size doesn't even exist here pre-pregnancy! I refuse to wear a fugly muu-muu!!! Any recommendations, at least for now until I can buy a few "real" pieces of maternity clothes? Muchas gracias a todos! :)