Internal Flights

Brady

Registered
I am an Argentine resident but my parents are not. They are coming to visit me but want to take a trip to Salta without me. Does anyone know if I buy their airline tickets to Salta as a resident, will they get through the airport fine. They will have to check a bag in also which complicates matters!!!! As they cant go straight to gate

Any advice would be appreciated

Thank you

I thought all resident fare subsidies had been rescinded.
Edited to add: I tried to do a dummy booking on LAN.com (Argentina page) and see that the subsidized flights are still available.

I would not recommend it. I thought about trying that a couple of times, but was advised not to by one my friends that work in Andes. Like everything here it's a bit of a hit an miss; it might work, but is it worth it if it doesn't?

P.S: Let me know if you want any recommendations on what to do/where to stay etc - I have been living in Salta for 5 years.

Was there a couple of weeks ago being a complete tourist. Enjoyed the views from the teleferico and also had a blast at a peña (and the cabrito was delicious).

The plaza is beautiful and it was fun just walking around.

Legally, only residents can fly at the reduced fares.

That said, people have reported in other threads here (tip: use the search box) successfully doing it by buying the ticket online, doing online checkin, taking only carry-on luggage, and NOT going near the checkin counter at the airport. As long as no airline employee checks their documents, they might get by with it. But if they check bags, as you say they need to do, it's highly unlikely.

If you are willing to take the risk, they could try and use resident tickets. However i know someone who did buy a ticket for his girlfriend who wasnt a resident, and she wasnt allowed on the plane, had to purchase another ticket at full price at airport which wasnt cheap, and then couldnt get a refund for the un-used resident ticket.