internship paid in pesos

argengina

Registered
hello, please excuse yet another dollar/peso question, but here goes:

i am a US grad student about to finish a 2 month internship here in BsAs. i was just handed a check for around 10k pesos, and i was wondering if anyone might have any idea as to how i can convert the money to dollars (en blanco at the 4.5 rate) before returning to the states on sunday. i do not have a DNI, but i do have a CUIL. i've tried the following avenues:

- going to AFIP and asking them for permission (they said no, as i don't have any financial substantiation & es más, the guy basically sent me to the blank market! he told me that lamentablemente, tendría que buscar "otro mercado")
- going to the state banks (banco de la nación & banco provincia) (they said no, as i am not an account holder)
- going to private banks (same response as the state banks)
- opening an account at the banks & depositing the check & using the credit card that they give me in the states (can't open account without DNI)
- going to casas de cambio "oficiales" (they also said that i can't buy dollars without an account)
- depositing the check (in castellano & in pesos) directly into my US Bank of America account (i called BoA and when they tried to find out how much the amount would be in USD, apparently the words "DO NOT BUY" appeared on their screens)
- buying American Express Traveler's Checks (same restrictions as the rest)

if all else fails, i'll buy at the blue rate, but it just makes me want to gouge my eyes out thinking that i'm going to lose 700-800 USD. and i realize that everyone in the country is facing the same issues, but it especially hurts as a grad student entrenched in student loans! so any advice you might be able to provide would be MUCH appreciated

Sorry man, but there is no way to convert it into USD. If there was a way to do this, don't you think everyone else in the country would be doing the same thing?