Knitting Mad

tangobob

Registered
In a city where nobody does anything for themselves, does celebrity change everything?
We hear from celebrity commentators that the stars are knitting, now on every corner where once were cafes, are wool shops.
I walked down Scalabrini the other day and it is now almost exclusively wool shops.
I wait for the day the stars start using pooper scoopers.

tangobob said:
In a city where nobody does anything for themselves, does celebrity change everything?
We hear from celebrity commentators that the stars are knitting, now on every corner where once were cafes, are wool shops.
I walked down Scalabrini the other day and it is now almost exclusively wool shops.
I wait for the day the stars start using pooper scoopers.

tb, those stores have been there for decades :)

nikad said:
tb, those stores have been there for decades :)

Funny how I never noticed them. I have been coming here since 2004 and this neck of the woods since 2006.
Are you sure you are not trying to pull the wool over my Eyes :D

They have been there since 2004 because that's when I started buying the good wool yarn here for my aunt. It is really expensive in the USA now and she loves the quality from here.

celebrities may knit in the USA- but not in BsAs.
I shop at the hilado stores on Scalabrini Ortiz quite a bit, and have never seen a single celebrity, porteno or otherwise, in any of em.

In Buenos Aires, the vast majority of knitters and crocheters are older women.

In the USA, there is a HUGE new subculture of young, 20 something knitters, both male and female- most of them far from celebrity- but that does not seem to have caught on here- there are very few "crafty" kids here, compared to in the norte.

One of my favorite crochet projects is this-
http://www.theiff.org/exhibits/iff-e9.html

Higher level mathematical modeling, combined with a coral reef.
One of the sisters is an art professor, the other a historian of physics.