Latin American English vs Spanish English

Redpossum

Registered
As an EFL teacher, I found this story amusing, in part because the author claims that Latin Americans speak English better than the Spanish do. He says this is in part due to a Franco-era Spanish law that all foreign TV must be dubbed into Spanish, whereas Netflix Argentina, for example, broadcasts US/UK TV in its native English, and relies on subtitles. This is actually very relevant to what I do for a living, as I always tell my students that watching movies and TV series in English is very helpful to learning it.

As an EFL teacher, I found this story amusing, in part because the author claims that Latin Americans speak English better than the Spanish do. He says this is in part due to a Franco-era Spanish law that all foreign TV must be dubbed into Spanish, whereas Netflix Argentina, for example, broadcasts US/UK TV in its native English, and relies on subtitles. This is actually very relevant to what I do for a living, as I always tell my students that watching movies and TV series in English is very helpful to learning it.

Dealing with real life situations is the absolute best way to learn a language.

Second to that, direct, one on one conversation with a SERIOUS language partner.

But I defer yo you. as you are the teacher!

JMTC

English is not native for me as well, I'm an immigrant to the US.
And large contributor to better English for me were (and still are) watching movies and news in English with English subtitles and listening to talk radio.

Notice that I consider important to have English subtitles matching English audio.
Subtitles that do not match audio (e.g. Spanish subtitles) are far less worthy for the purpose of learning the language.