Mailing Food/used Technology To Bsas?

csparson

Registered
I'm studying abroad here for the semester, and I'd like to have my parents mail me some things from the United States: chief among them, (1) Boxed, packaged, sealed cereal and (2) a really old, but functioning, Tablet Computer.

What is the best way to go about doing this? Should we try to hide the tablet in the box of cereal (to prevent being stolen?) Should we declare that there is food and used technology?

Thanks for the help in advance,
Cameron

Your best bet is probably to get someone to bring it down for you, that is, if you know of anyone coming to Buenos Aires soon.

Sending it by mail means taking the risk that it will 1) never arrive or 2) having it held up by customs and having to travel to get it and/or pay for its release.

agreed. only send the tablet if you are ok if you never get it. the cereal will proably pass, but you might need to pick it up (lots of time and money).
if you want to send, use certified mail, not fed ex or dhl. Why? if it gets held up with regular mail you go to the post office, their fines are reasonable and they are located in retiro.
dhl and fed ex you have to go to EZE, and their fines are EXPENSIVE, but they probably won´t give it to you. A client sent us HD cassette tapes, we hired a customs guy, and he couldn´t get it out, was told "panasonic is forbidden to enter Argentina"!!!!!!!!!!!!

Seriously, this wont be what you want to hear, but write the cereal off. Forget about it, put it on a list of stuff you can survive without. It isnt worth the hassle. By the time it gets here you'll be back in the states. If the tablet isnt coming with someone travelling down you would be risking not seeing it....or paying more than its worth to post it.