Moving To Argentina Soon, Any Advice?

cmf33

Registered
Hi there,

My boyfriend and I are due to move to Argentina in January, and the plan is to stay for a while (i.e. a couple of years, if possible). I was wondering if anyone who lives there could give me any advice on our job prospects?

He's hoping to get a proper job (i.e. with a work visa), which I realise is really difficult for a foreigner. However, do you think the fact that he speaks Spanish might help? He's a mechanical engineer with fluent English, French and Spanish. He hasn't had much luck in his job search so far, but we reckoned it'd probably be a lot easier once we are actually in Argentina and he can meet potential employers in person.

My plan is to carry on freelancing for companies in Europe and hopefully to pick up some more freelancing work in Argentina too (I'm a translator).

We are also considering living somewhere other than BA if there are more engineering opportunities there (such as Cordoba or Mendoza, for example).

Does anyone have any advice? Do you think we have a good chance of making enough to live off? We aren't moving in order to make loads of money, but we want to have enough to have a small flat and live fairly ok (we aren't big spenders).

I also have a TEFL qualification, but I'm not massively keen on the idea of teaching English, and would prefer to rely on translation if possible (does anyone know if there is a lot of demand for native English translators in Argentina?)

Thanks! Sorry if this isn't in the right forum, I wasn't sure where to post it. Any advice on Argentina (inc. jobs and places to live) would be really welcome!

All the specific questions you are asking are answered in multiple threads. Use the search function and you'll see them all discussed in excruciating detail. A few things I'll add: