Moving To Mendoza From Ba

BABlade

Registered
Hi everyone,

My girlfriend and I are currently living in Las Canitas, she told me this week that she might (50:50 probability) have the chance of a promotion with a new position in Mendoza. Does anyone have any experience with the difference in lifestyle between Mendoza and Buenos? I've been here about 9 months and I work as an online teacher earning around $6500/month, and my girlfriend if we moved probably $10,000. Obviously we have some doubts as we the flat we are living in now is rent free with us only having to pick up the bills as well as being in a great location of BA.

Although I am working as a teacher here I have a degree in Chemical/Process Engineering and have 3 yrs experience from back in the UK. Does anyone know if there is the need for Process Engineering in the wineries there or anything like this? (this could be plan B if we need the money). My Spanish language is probably classed as advanced but not quite fluent yet but getting there.

Looking forward to your responses.

10,000 without rent is not that good to make the move, IMO.

Yeah, but I meant what the company is offering her.

OK. And rent is free in BA (important).

I'd say if quality of life is better in Mendoza & if it's possible to live there nicely with 16.500$, why not?

With your skills (with or without diploma. If you're good, no need for diploma), you can try to work for wineries indeed.

Nice challenges in new surroundings!

Sounds like a lot of fun to me, with enough money to live on quite well....go for it....you can always come back!

Thank you very much for all your responses. I have just had an update and the company would probably offer her 13 to 14,000 per month, so in total we would be earning $20,000 Peso a month. Currently in BA we are earning a total of approx. $14,500 Pes/month but rent free. Do you think that this increase would be enough to find a pretty decent flat to rent and live comfortably?