Newly arrived

vertex

Registered
Hi

We have just arrived in BA from the UK and are totally new to Argentina.

Lookng to settle here, learn Spanish and find a new and interesting life and make new friends.

As total newbees it would be great to have the benefit of old hands knowledge.

Work permits, spanish lessons, good apartments.

vertex said:
Hi

We have just arrived in BA from the UK and are totally new to Argentina.

Lookng to settle here, learn Spanish and find a new and interesting life and make new friends.

As total newbees it would be great to have the benefit of old hands knowledge.

Work permits, spanish lessons, good apartments.

Welcome! Quite a few Brits and English speakers in Buenos Aires and on here. Use the search facility to gen up on key words, current issues etc. I've found a lot of useful information, many opinions etc. People keen to give good advice if asked.

Have you found a place, got jobs etc?.

Interesting time to be here - hang on to your hat, enjoy the ride and expect more than a few surprises. UK it ain't!

The sooner you can start to learn español rioplatense, the Argentine version of spanish (castillano), then the better will be your experience.

Best of luck!

Thanks for encouragment its great to know we are not alone.

Found an apartment easily for a month but we are looking for something more to our taste long term.

I run an internet buisness so can operate anywhere but will need for ease a local bank account. My other half is a professional and needs a work permit we expect.

We have a month or two before we need to worry so looking to find out everthng we need to know in that time.

Where can we get a Spanish tutor?

Opening a bank account is going to be dependent on you having some sort of resident status here, whether permanent or temporary. What you need is the DNI. Look up the DNI on these forums to get more information.