Once you obtain residency in Argentina, are you authorized to work in all MERCOSUR countries?

Fiscal

Registered
Not Argentinian citizenship, but the residency permit you get from going through the RADEX process and getting a DNI?

i doubt it. work authorization is likely based on your citizenship.

i say this because once i tried to enter brazil with my DNI, thinking i was covered by mercosur. i was kindly informed by their immigration people that i needed a visa as a US citizen. didn't matter that i was an argentina resident.

Once you obtain residency in Argentina, are you authorized to work in all MERCOSUR countries?

Not Argentinian citizenship, but the residency permit you get from going through the RADEX process and getting a DNI?

No.

once i tried to enter brazil with my DNI, thinking i was covered by mercosur. i was kindly informed by their immigration people that i needed a visa as a US citizen. didn't matter that i was an argentina resident.

As of June 17, 2019, US citizens are no longer required to have a visa to enter Brazil.

PS: But don't forget your passport, as I don't think a US citizen would be admitted without one, even if they have an Argentine DNI.

...work authorization is likely based on your citizenship.

Work authorization in Argentina is not based on citizenship. It is based on residency with the DNI. As far as i know, members of other Mercosur countries are required to get Argentine residency and a DNI to work legally in Argentina.

Last edited:
As of June 17, 2019, US citizens are no longer required to have a visa to enter Brazil.

PS: But don't forget your passport, as I don't think a US citizen would be admitted without one, even if they have an Argentine DNI.

The advance tourist visa requirement to enter Brazil has been eliminated for citizens of other countries as well.