Pasta!

Girino

Registered
I just wanted to brag about my fettuccine! ;)

sfbdpz.jpg

Probably infinitely better than ANYTHING pasta related one can buy at a store in Argentina.

I am just a beginner, this was my 4th attempt to make pasta, and I just discovered what a difference the egg can do.
These were made with those white-shell egg sold for cheap, and the outcome was very pale (I applied a filter to the picture above), then I bought huevos de campo with pink shell, their yolk was bright orange and the result was better, more alike in color to the pictures coming from Italy.
Also, here I noticed that ravioli are very pale, practically WHITE, whereas in Italy they are bright yellow.

do you have the machine to roll out or did you hand roll? which flour did you settle on in the end?

do you have the machine to roll out or did you hand roll? which flour did you settle on in the end?

I have a Kenwood kitchen machine, and before leaving I bought a pasta roller attachment (plain, like for lasagna) and also a cutting rolling-pin for tagliatelle, however after a little practice you can cut whatever width by hand (less precise and more time consuming, but totally doable once in a while...).

I tried to make ravioli only once, but I have to work on the filling. Plus I am not a big fan of ravioli, they are okay once in a while, just like lasagne, but not every week like they do here.
Anyway, there are several other attachment available for my kitchen machine to cut spaghetti, linguine, spaghetti quadrati, etc. but they sell for around USD 100/each.
And there is a whole other range of draw plates for the pasta press attachment, which to my understanding is not for pasta all'uovo, but for the other kind (semola + water), which is worked in the form of crumbs, as opposed to the dough of pasta all'uovo (flour + eggs).
I have that in the cheap plastic version sold in the UK but I am not yet satisfied with the result. I should practice a little more.