Public (state) school teachers' salaries in BA

sergio said:
Public school teaching is NOT low paid in many school districts of the East Coast US. I know of suburban school districts in major metropolitan areas where salaries reach $100,000. I have a friend who earns a little over that amount.

Sergio, once upon a time $100,000 could buy a comfortable middle-class lifestyle. I'm not sure it goes that far anymore. The starting salary for new associates at the best law firms is $160,000 and fresh MBAs have often been starting at well over $100,000. Granted, these are the exception rather than the rule but I would up the ante to $200,000 before I called anyone well-paid in the USA.

To be fair to you, it's also true that lots of lawyers (say) have not been getting jobs at all; see this blog for some horrifying stories.

I was a scientist before I became a high school teacher; therefore I had to go back for “teacher-training” classes, which I viewed as a joke. I had more science classes than any chemistry education major took in the States. I have taught in the inner city schools and Argentina private schools. The teaching profession is not respect. In fact, most people view the profession as an “easy” gig. If you are a good teacher the gig is not easy at all. You have to deal with violence, gangs, academic performance, incompetent administration, emotional children and adults, paper work for legal documentations, lesson planning, exam preparation, lack of supplies, lack of building code violations, etc. For the last 6 years I have worked from 7 a.m. until 9 p.m. M-F and that doesn’t account for the phone calls or weekend duties. The pay for teachers is pathetic. I made $72K in Chicago, but I could not afford to live there, I made $4,000 pesos here full-time which meant 45 contact hours of students and other duties. Both the US and Argentina’s school systems are lacking compared to the Japanese systems. Here the teachers seem to protest as the first answer to conflict;