Q/about Residency In The Us And Arg

Girino

Registered
Hi, I am an European citizen and I have been a permanent resident of the US since 2013.
My soon-to-be-husband is Argentinian, and once married I will apply to sponsor him for a Green Card as well, so that we can move together to the US. In the meanwhile (it can take 2 years to sponsor him in the US), we will be living in Argentina because we can't afford anymore the expensive European lifestyle.

In order for me to stay legally in Argentina for 2 years, he will be sponsoring me to get my residency in Argentina.
I am seriously concerned that becoming a resident of Argentina could be perceived as abandoning my US residency, but I have no other mean to stay legally in Argentina for two years (unless I find an Argentinian employer that will sponsor me, but then I would be poor again).

I earn my living mostly from the US and UK, and I pay my taxes in the US as a freelancer - and I intend to do so in the upcoming two years.
Has anybody of you been in a similar situation? e.g. with a GC spouse but moved to ARG for a couple of years with the intent to return to the US? Did you have to go through the sponsorship all over?
Thanks

You don't need to apply for residency in Argentina. Just do as many of us do. Leave the country every 3 months. The day trip to Colonia del Sacramento is relatively inexpensive and will allow you to stay for a while unquestioned. Basically because your passport is EU. Some people here will say it's illegal. Some will say it's unnecessary. Technically it's a complicated issue. Many of us around here do the 3 month colonia runs without a problem. Some report to have done it for 7 years without issues.

Won't this affect my ability to get a DNI and to do stuff that residents are allowed to do, but tourists are not?
e.g. getting a driver license (I have a US one, for that matter), paying reduced entrance fees at museums, etc.?