Questions About Trip To Iguazu

CarolinaK

Registered
Hello :)

I have booked a trip to Iguazu in May and am now wondering if anyone who has already been there could answer me a few questions.
I am staying in a Hostel in Puerto Iguazu. I have read that there is public bus transport to the National Park. Is that true or are there special shuttle busses?
On my second day I want to go to see the Brasilian side. Now I know that there is an international bus. Do I have to book a ticket in advance or can I buy one right there? And does it take me directly to the National Park?

I hope someone can help me out, I'd just like to have these things clear before I go there

Hi I work in the travel industry and have been to Iguazu many times. Yes, there is a public bus from Puerto Iguazu to both the Brazilian and Argentine sides of the falls. The bs leaves from the main bus station and you can purchase tickets at the station.

Plan for 5-6 hours to visit the Argentine side of the falls.

Visiting the Brazilian side is a little trickier, as some busses do not stop at the border. I had this happen, we went straight through to Foz do Iguazu and I never got my Argentine exit stamp or Brazil entry stamp - big quilombo when returning later that day.

The bus goes from Puerto Iguazu to Foz do Iguazu, where you can catch a bus to the Brazil side of the falls. If you are familiar with the area, you can get off the bus at the main road junction (where the bus turns left to go to Foz), and flag down a bus going to the Falls. But for your first time visit, it's easier to go out of your way to Foz do Iguazu and catch a direct bus to the Falls. Last time I was there, I got off at the road junction when returning from the Brazil Falls, and could not flag a bus going back to Argentina. I ended up walking several kilometers back to Argentina (not recmmended).

Hope this helps.

Yes, this helps a lot, thank you :)