Remodeling Three Bathrooms

rickulivi

Registered
Hi

Does anybody have any experience they can share about remodeling bathrooms in an apartment in BA?

I live in the States but own an apt. in Bs. As and want to start using it more often, maybe a few weeks at a time. Presently, it has one full bathroom, a small one with no shower and a "maids" bathroom. I want to transform them into three full bathrooms. We have drawn out the plans and interviewed an excellent architect, but his quote seemed high to me. Of course, I have no idea of what it can actually cost, so it was just a gut feeling that it was high. I realize I could be completely wrong.

I may be also interested in meeting a general contractor as opposed to an architect just to get a different look at the remodeling. I think they are called "maestro de obras".

I will not be in Bs. As. during construction so that may be an invitation to calamity. I have lots of experience remodeling in California but none in Argentina and the two systems are so different that it makes my experience useless..

I appreciate any feedback. If you prefer to remain anonymous, please email me at [email protected]

I can only wish you luck. :)

If you're not going to be here for the process then I strongly suggest you find someone who will look after your behalf. It's been my experience that if you're not watching, corners will be cut and bad decisions made. Then again I may have just been unlucky.

Crema Americana:

Thank you for your reply. I could not agree more with you but how do I find that person you suggest?

When i have remodeled in California, I was always the first one on the job each day. Once planned activities got scheduled, I would return in the afternoon to supervise. But, I cannot do that in Argentina, unless i want to postpone the project for several years.