Rentista Wire Transfer Woes. Need Help Please.

Wheresdylan

Registered
I've got my 1 year temporary rentista visa completed, have a DNI, settled in finally. Recently went to renew the rentista visa for year two and ran into the inevitable problems. I was able to open a bank account with the Nacional bank and after six months they said I could wire transfer money to fulfill the rentista visa requirement. That wasn't true, the bank won't allow me to do a wire transfer since I'm a temporary resident, not permanent. All the banks I go to tell me the same thing. They say it's the Central Bank that prevents it. What am I to do? I'm willing to transfer the money at the official rate, whatever it takes to stay here, but I need a bank that will allow it. What have other rentistas done to fulfill this requirement? I'm not located in Buenos Aires, so maybe our small town BRC migraciones branch doesn't yet know how to respond.

Your post indicates that you already went to renew your visa rentista. That leads me to ask a few questions:

How close to the expiration/renewal date are you? Is your local migraciones office asking for bank statements for any number of months of the past year showing that you have made wire transfers into the account? How have you been able to access your foreign funds since you got the visa?

If you're from the USA you can use XOOM to "transfer" funds from your US bank to your Argentine bank account at a good rate. If you are not from the US and can't use XOOM, there are other companies you can probably use. I don't think migraciones in Capital Federal has asked for actual wire transfers for a number of years.

A friend of mine renewed his visa in Capital Federal last year and he wasn't asked for copies of his Argentine bank statements, just verification of his income from the USA (and was not asked for his US bank statements, either). There was no mention of wire transfers.