Running shoes?!

T*Minney

Registered
Hello Fellow Expats,

Does anyone know if there are any shops around where I can buy good running shoes? I'm not talking about the Nike or Puma stores, but stores that carry brands such as New Balance, Mizuno, or Saucony, preferably in the Palermo area, but I'll go anywhere! Thanks so much!!!!

Mizuno and Brooks (my running shoe brands) are not in Argentina. Not sure about Saucony, but haven't seen it.

Haven't seen any of those brands in BA. Pretty much what you can get here is Reebok, Nike, Puma and Adidas. There are others like Fila but NOT that popular. There are some other Brazillian brands, like Olimpycus (or something in those lines) but won't recommend them as I have no experience with those. New Balance (my brand of choice) is a hit or miss, some stores carry'em but not in all numbers/models and those that do have them usually only carry models from older seasons.

I'd recommend you to check Cordoba & Scalabrini Ortiz. Both Fila and Adidas have outlets right there in opposite corners. Not a block from there (walking down on Cordoba) you have a Nike Outlet and in front a Stock multi-brand outlet.

I'm afraid there is nothing like some of the specialty stores you would find in the US, where you will get shoe recommendations based on your foot/step... you will have to go by guts/experience.

Happy hunting.

joeteixido said:
I'd recommend you to check Cordoba & Scalabrini Ortiz. Both Fila and Adidas have outlet right there in opposite corners. Not a block from there (walking on Cordoba) you have a Nike Outlet and in front a Stock multi-brand outlet.

That is the Stock Centers I listed above.

My running shoe of choice is ASICS.

BEST OPTION:
I actually found the latest edition of the "2#30" when I was looking back in 2008 at a store on Santa Fe between ~Montevideo & Callao. It was around where Nike, adidas, & Puma all have stores on Santa Fe in Barrio Norte just past Callao as you head towards 9 de Julio.