Setting up as a Freelancer in Baires

viadinho

Registered
Dear all,

I have been working here in BA for almost three years for a local company and I now feel like a change of scene. For this reason I have decided to set myself up as an independent Spanish-English translator/editor/copywriter with actual experience of working in this field for a locally based multinational. My real question is: how hard is it to get set up as a monotributista and what are the steps?

Best

I think you need to visit afip's website or visit any office of afip.

From what I understand, that is actually a very simple process. But I can't remember much of the details. I'll ask around and get back to you on that.

Many thanks. I already have a CUIL which should make things easier but I'm finding the AFIP website a bit of a struggle. Any/all assistance welcome.

Having a CUIL you need to complete a form, print it out and go to the shops (rapipago/pagofacil) to pay your montly payment. The point is: Which form do you need to complete? How is your Spanish to talk over the phone to AFIP?

viadinho said:
My real question is: how hard is it to get set up as a monotributista and what are the steps? Best

THe AFIP you'll have to go to depends on where you live. For example there's one on Luis María Campos between Santa Fe and the traintracks --near Cañitas. THere's also one on Sánchez de Loria if that rings a bell.

I would not try the phone, just go to an office and start the process there; as I recall it's easy. If you can't find your local office on their webb site using your zip code, ask around in local shops, eventually somebody will be able tell you.

By the way, what type of translating to you do?