$$$ Stuck between a rock and an Argentine place...

Hey
I'm from the US, but at the end of November I am going to visit family in Australia. I teach English and all of my cash is in pesos. I had the great idea of sending it to my account via Western Union, I went to the nearest branch and got prices and figures...returned today and apparently a law was passed YESTERDAY restricting transfer of money via Western Union. I know a place that I can get dollars (under the table...) I am a student but haven't been granted my visa as of yet and will be all of 9 days beyond my visa expiration I am a bit nervous about rocking up to the airport with 2g in greenbacks....any ideas? Has anyone tried to exchange pesos-dollars in Uruguay? Maybe Western Union option there too?
Ideas? Thoughts?
Gracias
Zac

zacearlwanderstheworld said:
Hey
I'm from the US, but at the end of November I am going to visit family in Australia. I teach English and all of my cash is in pesos. I had the great idea of sending it to my account via Western Union, I went to the nearest branch and got prices and figures...returned today and apparently a law was passed YESTERDAY restricting transfer of money via Western Union. I know a place that I can get dollars (under the table...) I am a student but haven't been granted my visa as of yet and will be all of 9 days beyond my visa expiration I am a bit nervous about rocking up to the airport with 2g in greenbacks....any ideas? Has anyone tried to exchange pesos-dollars in Uruguay? Maybe Western Union option there too?
Ideas? Thoughts?
Gracias
Zac

Buy a money pouch to wear under your clothes. Perfectly safe and legal.

Don't tell anyone you have it and conceal it somewhere on you. It's perfectly legal. I frequently fly back with USD just to have here. Anything under 10K you don't even have to declare.

Yup. Just carry it on yourself