Tango Peeps: What's Your Favorite Milonga, And Why?

HelaineT

Registered
On my various visits stays in BA, I've made the rounds of different circuits of milongas. Though no experience I've had in North America or Europe matches tango here, I still feel like Goldilocks, looking for her milongas that are "just right". I'm a tango veteran, very skilled, and I can figure this out myself over time, but I would love to hear insights from from other tanguistas (?) in this forum's community. Thanks in advance!

Perhaps you should state a few more details about what would be just right, and what you liked or didn't like about the places you already went to.

Perhaps you should state a few more details about what would be just right, and what you liked or didn't like about the places you already went to.

That's an idea, EricLovesBA. But that would give me less of a chance to get to know individuals in the BA Expat tango community. I can enjoy and respect everyone's preferences, and even want to try an environment that is not right up my alley. For example, I'm happy to have danced at Nuevo Chique as well as at El Yeite - two opposite extremes, though neither is for me. Also, it might help me discover interesting environments for my students, who have different needs than I do.

So what are your favorites? . . . and why? ;)

(If the thread catches on, I'll reveal my current favorites.)

I think i like canning ( Milonga Parakultural) specifically mondays or tuesdays the best... because it is a little mix of everything depending on what time you go especially on tuesdays.

I like La Viruta not because it's the best milonga... just because it's La Viruta,

I go to El Yeite because i have friends there and i also like Milonga 10 sometimes... depends ....