Tips for newbies to Bs. As.

ElLatingo

Registered
So I've been coming to Bs. As. for more than five years. My first visit was to meet my future in-laws, which means that I was more "aware" of how things worked here. I had locals show me the ropes, and told me to keep my eyes open for this and that. Of course, there were certain things that I learned on my own, and I'd like to share some of those things here for present and future newbies to Bs. As.

The impetus for this was the spate of recent postings along the lines of: "Hey, I'm new to Bs. As." or "I'm moving to Bs. As. soon; what should I know?". So I thought I'd put a list together of things I've learned over the years that might help the transition into life here.

Please note: this isn't a "Bs. As. Sucks" list. I'm not looking to pick a fight, nor cast aspersions. These are not criticisms; they're just things to be aware of and, oftentimes, spotlight differences in our cultures; differences that newbies might not know about and/or have difficulty getting used to. What's more, this isn't a comprehensive list. Please feel free to add to it.

WATCH FOR DOG BOMBS
These turd piles are found gracing the sidewalks throughout Bs. As. Even though the sidewalks are much cleaner than they were when I first starting coming here, there are turdlets everywhere. Some are the size of small houses and are hard to miss; others blend in with the shade. Keep your eyes open.

BE CAREFUL ON WET SIDEWALKS
If you like to wear flipflops (as I do) or sandals during the summer, be very careful. Many of the sidewalks here are made of marble, which becomes extremely slippery when wet. When this happens, you can — and most likely will — go flying.

SIDEWALK ETIQUETTE
Continuing the sidewalk thread, the concept of walking on the right isn't observed very much here. You'll probably notice that people will keep walking toward you and will only move at the very last minute...if they move at all.

TRASHY