Traveling By Ship From Usa To Argentina

polostar88

Registered
I was wondering if anyone has info on how to travel by ship from northeast USA (Boston-NYC area is fine) to Argentina or Uruguay. Anything from cargo ship travel to repositioning cruise or whatever would be fine. Even better if you know someone with a private yacht who would be willing to take a passenger. I'm a professor on a sort of sabbatical so time is not an issue, but I'd really prefer to travel by ship rather than to fly.

Amazing that there aren't any options for sea travel anymore.

Any advice or tips would be much appreciated. Nice bottle of champagne on me when I get to BsAs.

I did a bit of research on this a while back - there are options. At least one of the major cruise lines (Princess? Celebrity?) runs Miami to Valparaiso, and Valparaiso to Buenos Aires. But if you're looking for more adventure, Google "cargo ship travel", "freighter travel", and, as a bonus "tall ship travel". I found a schooner voyage from the Caribbean to Brazil (or maybe it was Montevideo) in my searches.