Xoom Money Stolen, Anyone With Experience? Help!

ecohen14

Registered
I recently sent $500 US from my US debit card to be picked up by me at the More Argentina Xoom office on Libertad in pesos. I sent the transaction in my name and it was sent to my name as well. I have been using Xoom for 3 years and have never had a problem. I called the office last Thursday to ask if the location was open on Saturday to pick up the pesos and they told me explicitly that it would be closed.

Then I receive an email Saturday afternoon saying that the "Transaction has been completed" and that the $500 has been picked up. I frantically called the company and they confirmed the transaction was listed as picked up. After many phone calls and them "contacting the BA office", they told me that in fact the money was picked up... but couldn't give me ANY more details than that. They couldn't confirm where it was picked up, or with what document, or why it happened when the office was "supposedly closed".

Now I am opening a case with Xoom to get a refund, if the "investigation" shows that an "unauthorized person" truly picked up the money.

My passport and all credit cards are with me, nothing has been stolen. The only time I gave my passport away for the day was about a week ago to my company's immigrations agent when we went together to Migraciones in Retiro.

Does anyone have any experience with this???

Xoom won't give me any answers regarding what document was shown to get the money, should I be concerned that someone has a copy of my passport (is that even possible?) or has anyone ever shown a different document at Xoom to receive money (they state only passports are acceptable for foreigners)? Should I alert the embassy (Xoom suggested this)? Should I try going to the Xoom office and trying to get information? Does this mean that I should not use Xoom again? I rely on it a good amount.

Hope someone can help. Thanks!