Young Expat Or Fool?

aholm

Registered
Hello all,

I was thinking of posting this in the jobs forum - but I'm not technically looking for a job, more of life advise from fellow expats, and I take it everyone here has a bit of experience with that in the Buenos Aires context.

I'm a recent college graduate, and fresh out of graduating from North Carolina State University (go Wolfpack!), I landed a job with an online travel wholesaler and moved to Argentina after two months' training. It helped that I'm both a native English and Spanish speaker. All in all, a really fast whirlwind roller coaster ride and I'm here...

But it's difficult. I moved here by myself, knowing nothing, and far too used to American and European general daily life comforts. Don't get me wrong, I love it here, live in Palermo Soho, and plan on staying indefinitely. But I'm currently at the point of asking myself - am I the world's biggest idiot or did I make a great decision? More in depth...

I manage the Buenos Aires and Uruguay markets for an American company based out of Orlando. I'm pretty proud of myself, so, on that end, great opportunity.

But I graduated in Business Admin/Marketing and I love (love, love...love) advertising and branding. I'm constantly worrying if I'm going to be sucked into the vacuum of this company, fueled by the fact that the growth I've brought for the market is like a drug to me, and never end up going to what I really dream of doing.

And I'm an American college kid - so you know I graduated with a little debt (although I'm lucky it's very little, but I still need to pay it off, and the whole dollar situation here is difficult - I just need to be able to pay the remainder of my credit card). And I want to stay here.