2 Months in BA

george22

Registered
I am trying to spend my 2 month sabbatical in BA with wife and 3 kids (10,8,6). I don't want a touristy experience. We live in Portland, Oregon. Ideally want to get kids to be in a soccer camp for few weeks while spouse and I get to relax and unwind/work from home (spouse does not have sabbatical!). And then make time for us to travel as family to the must see places out there in a car or public transportation. We've already done a major road trip (with many days of tent camping) with all 3 kids in the USA and we can handle that just fine. We are also devout Catholic, so want to visit some local churches/pilgrimage centers.

In addition to all of the above, I am interested to volunteer to speak to high school or college kids for couple days (I have a PhD in electrical engineering and work in the chip industry). Want to keep this budget friendly.. We only have a 20 grand budget.

Any thoughts?

So, a few questions/comments:

- If you don't want a touristy experience why come to Buenos Aires? Why not go somewhere rural?
- Soccer camp will be very difficult if you and your kids don't speak Spanish, unless you're looking to get fleeced for being rich gringos
- Your wife is going to be working remotely I assume? If so, this will require you to stay in cities/towns for a good internet connection
- Camping/roadtrips in Argentina aren't the same as the US, Argentina isn't I-5 to Disneyland, depending on where you go/what you want to see
you need to do some preparation and investigation
- Someone else may be more knowledgeable than me on this given my... senitments on catholicism, but you'll want to visit the Basílica de Nuestra Señora de Luján, about an hour and change west of Buenos Aires. She's the patron saint of Argentina, and I there's also some sort of pilgrimage route in the middle of the country too, but I can't remember it's name/when it happens/what it's about