Artist studio sublet

50schalet

Registered
Hi, I’m moving to BA in mid October for 3 months, I’m an architect and artist and am looking to sublet an artist studio or space in a workshop or warehouse. I’ve been researching but am struggling to find any links. Decided to rent on Airbnb a space with a terrace for the first month so I can work there for the first few weeks whilst I look, but ideally I would rent a live/work place but a small shared space to work is ok as well. Does anyone have any ideas where I can look? Many thanks

depends on what a "studio" is to you. I know people who expect white walls and carpeting, and just have a desk. My studio has 200 amps of 3 phase power, and machine tools. (in the US- in BA, I work in a small apartment, and do lighter scale work) There are a fair amount of artist studio buildings in buenos aires, most are older office buildings or industrial buildings. So some are office sized rooms, others are drive in with concrete floors. For a sublet, I would maybe try asking at Panal 361- its the kind of small studio space most people want, and they may have somebody who wants to sublet. And they may know other buildings to try. There are bigger, more industrial type artist buildings, but they are less central- there are, for example, several in Paternal. Not something you would find online- you need to meet, and talk to, artists in town, to track down a space. Lots of artists and galleries these days are in Villa Crespo, and there are a lot of studios there. Some gallery dealers might be able to help steer you to artists buildings as well. Like any art scene, everybody knows everybody, so locals can tell you where other buildings are with studios. I would ask in Patio Liceo, if any of the spaces might be sublettable- but they are pretty small.

https://www.panal361.com/
http://patiodelliceo.com/