Busking in the Subte

Bron

Registered
Hello, how's it going?

My name is Bron and I just moved here from Philadelphia. I work at a hostel here and I'm also an aspiring professional musician. I don't have high expectations for what I'll achieve here with music, but I'm using this time to live cheaply for a few years and improve my chops.

This past week I started busking on the Subte, and actually doing pretty well. However, I've faced some resistance from a couple musicians and beggars. I have, of course, done my best to be respectful and considerate of them, and try to talk to them and make a personal connection, but I've decided to keep a lower profile for the next few days until I learn more about how this works.

I've heard that in some countries there is some sort of consortium or mafia involvement with street performers and beggars, and one of my friends mentioned they had heard about that here. Does anybody know anything about this?

At first it sounded a little sensational that the mafia controlled the subway performers, but I am not going to take this lightly. Yesterday a guy confronted me and demanded 20 pesos, and said that if he didn't eat, we'd have a problem. (I gave him 2.)

I realize that I probably have a lot more to lose than the other people working down there, so I'm going to tread lightly. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Bron

Hi:

I have done that with a band to collect fund for a ONG and I have faced resistance from some beggars (not musicians).

It´s too much to speak of MAFIA, the MAFIA aims to more profitable business. Poor people sell things on the subte or ask for money, and there are some musicians as well.

Did you stay at the station´s floor or you moved from coach to coach??

They see you as a competitor but I think nobody is going to hurt you, they will only try to intimidate you and scare you because you are new to this.