Kids In Need!

JG

Registered
When you've walked around your neighborhood, wherever that is in argentina, you can't help but notice the kids working as cartoneros (the underclass who go through the trash collecting what they can either use or sell). Ive been helping 4 brothers for several years and even helped them out cartoneroing several times. Those bags are heavy!
What you may not know is that many are just normal kids who will be starting the school year in a few weeks. You can imagine the type of home etc where they live. And theres a simple, safe way you can help!!
Sometimes its hard to know where to help and if you give money to a group etc, to know how your money will be used. But it really easy to find one of these kids working in your neighborhood and make a difference by giving them a backpack full of the school supplies they will need and lack right into their hands. I see the same kids all the time in my neighborhood, sometimes working in pairs or alone and sometimes with a parent.
They will need: a backpack, pencils, pens in a variety of colors, some erasers, a pencil sharpener, some notebooks, 2 packs of 3 ringed notebook paper (one with lines, the other with squares. i would buy the good quality brand called Exito and suggest 400 pages in each pack). Any of your argentine friends can tell you what a student needs.
I cant stress enough what a difference it will make for these kids to show up in their school with a new backpack (versus the crummy cheap one theyve been using) and have enough notebook paper and pens etc.
I visited someone recently in upscale Palermo. When i was walking to the subway afterwards around 5pm or so, i was waiting to cross the street 2 blocks away and a kid around 14 goes by slowly with his big cart loaded up, we looked at each other as he passed. Id describe his look as shame. Im sure hes starting school soon, im sure he is in need.