THE US DOLLAR - Strong Again? When, How, Why

Dudester

Registered
There's a lot of bright people on here that understand this stuff in much greater detail than I do. With that said why does the US Dollar just keep dropping (especially against the Euro it seems) and what is it going to take to get it up to one = one with the Euro again (do you think that situation will EVER repeat?). If Barack Obama becomes the next President and ends the war and all that crazy spending as promised will that help the situation? Will a McCain win make it even worse? Any and all info is welcome (topic detail elaboration/expansion is VERY welcome) and greatly appreciated..... Thanks in advance, Dudester

i'm no expert but try this ....

http://www.ratical.org/ratville/CAH/RRiraqWar.html

I do not count myself among the bright, just the curious. The short answer re. the $ is that a currency is worth what the larger market will pay for it, and because of dozens of factors, including the price of oil (which is skyrocketing), balance of trade payments, indebtedness (and who holds the debt), short-term market prospects, inflation and recession (which is what we have in the States, usually called Stagflation), and lots of other even more complex factors, currency investors are investing more in Euros than in dollars, thus the falling dollar. The vast amount of money spent in Iraq is just one part of that equation, and there is a lot of the "self-fulfilling prophecy" at work here. If McCain is elected, which is not likely, you can summarize the next four years as more of the same, or Bush's 3rd term. Therefore, any Democrat would be a better choice.

But will that strengthen the dollar in world currency markets? Maybe a little, but probably not recovering half of what it has lost in the past 6 months. In other words, if you earn dollars, you should have done your tourist traveling last year. If you earn Euros, then head for the States, which is now that great shopping mall in the sky.