World Cup meet-ups

Gaucho Sam

Registered
Hello all,

As I mentioned in my first post on the Newcomers' board, I'm a football journalist. I've just had a call from a friend who's been phoned up by an ex-colleague at ESPN Sportscenter. They're looking to take a camera and try and get a few interviews and some pictures with ex-pats who are watching their country play at the World Cup in Buenos Aires. My friend, being Argentine, doesn't have a clue where these people might be, but he called me to ask if I do.

So, for example, does anyone know of anywhere that will be hosting a lot of English and Americans for Saturday's match? Or anywhere ESPN might be able to encounter a bunch of Irish fans wearing Uruguay/Mexico/South Africa shirts during France's matches (beyond the obvious Irish bars, of course)?

I've suggested The Gibraltar to him, which is where I might be watching the England-USA game, but beyond that or Molly Malone's (which I've never actually been in!) I was a bit stumped. I told him I'd get back to him on it.

Any other ideas? Any match-up and nationality accepted!

There was a post about a bunch of people going to Almagro or something, but I know I am staying in Palermo going to Prodeo Bar/Hotel (Gorriti between Godoy Cruz and Juan B Justo). Not sure how he'll feel about cameras, but the owner is American and he is showing all the games.

As an Irish guy, I am going to watch Uruguay beat France tomorrow in Sugar.....

Saturday, meeting up for a barbecue and Super Saturday at an ex pats house with a load of Brits and Yanks (If that is desired, PM me)

Sunday, and there is a large group heading to CasaBar to watch Australia v Germany, with I do believe, an inflatable Kangaroo making an appearance. Naturally this is being hosted by Aussie Ex Pats :)

Hope that helps.....

PS - The Gibraltar, much as it is a favourite watering hole of mine, is not the best for football.