Cost of living

USMCAcosta

Registered
I apologize if this has been covered but I would like to receive personalized advice for my particular figures. I am a 24 year old veteran (2 tours in Afghanistan). I received my honorary discharge from the Marine Corps and am using my GI Bill to get a degree in ECommerce online through a state school here in New York. I have managed to amass quite a bit of savings during my 6 years in the service and would like to unwind in a place like Buenos Aires where the exchange rate is favorable and I can at least have some what of a decent standard of living.

I have a budget of about $US 240 a week after rent ($1200 monthly budget). I wonder about how good of a life I can lead down there. I am single and after the war and everything I just want to zone out and tune out from my normal life. I have no intentions of working and can basically keep up this budget for a couple of years while I finish my degree. I'd just like to know if I could realistically have a good time down there on my budget. I am very good at managing my finances and have zero debt if any of that matters.

Also, my parents are from the Dominican Republic so I am fluent in the "tu" version of Spanish. :D

If it all works out I'll be making the move on October 24th of this year.

I would like to thank all of you in advance for any advice or tips.

God Bless

from one ex-military to another, Welcome to BA

If you're left with $240 AFTER rent then I'd say you'll be ok. $1000 pesos a week for disposable income is a lot more than the average local would have to play with. You won't live extravagantly, but you won't be missing out on much

Also, you're arriving the day after the Federal Election, so I don't know how the city will be (possibly dead calm and in a state of shock?!)

Hi. There are several threads that can help you out with extensive info and recent conversations about COL in Buenos Aires.