Crashed Macbook :-(

Status
Not open for further replies.

srtamollygreen

Registered
It has been one tragedy after another... (that´s a little dramatic... but there´s definitely been no shortage of obstacles for me this time around)

In a nutshell: my macbook pro decided to take a turn for the worse and will no longer turn on. No idea why. I found a few places that look at Macs... but I was here 5 years ago when Apple was restricted, and I know to have it fixed is going to cost me an arm and a leg.

Anybody out there who has had a similar experience? Any advice you can give me as far as where to take it, how to save a penny, and the best place to buy a new internal hard drive?

I am not an expert with technology and have no desire to try fix it myself. Nor do I really know much about internal hard drives other than the one I have in my computer (a replacement) is still under warranty--stateside. Nobody is coming to visit any time soon from the States and although I have an upcoming trip to go back, it is not until the end of May. I desperately need my computer for work and for my classes in the meantime.

I know I can take it for a consult for 50 pesos to a place relatively close to my house called Grupo GB... but I am almost afraid to waste my time because I have a feeling they are going to give me a really expensive presupuesto...

Any help, insights, or advice is much appreciated.

There's a guy, I think his name is Josh, his business name is Mac Daddy. At least one friend of mine recommended him.

Here's a thread I found: http://baexpats.org/topic/10164-have-a-mac-need-help-call-the-macdaddy/

Call Ricardo from balaptop.com. He was born here but grew up in Australia and does this for a living (used to fix macs in AU, as well). I ha detto my MacBook keyboard replaced by him last year and the price was less than in an Apple Store in Europe.