Got married! Now how to get citizenship?

El_fuego

Registered
Married my love in the Catholic Church a few months ago and finally got it done in the governments eyes there with the lovely ladies at the registro civil. Can somebody point me in the direction of where to go now to finally start getting legal here?

Congratulations on your marriage! I hope you will be very happy together

I have no personal experience to offer here but after a little rooting around on this site there seem to be several threads and conversations which might be of use to you. I've homed in on this one - Citizenship Through Marriage started by @shawnjames on September 8 2015 - and in particular Post No.10 by @nicoenarg which seems to sum everything up concisely. It's nine years old and some of the other posters including the OP seem a little screwball and I don't know if everything still applies today but Post No.10 seems sound.

I'd suggest you spend a little time searching for other posts on the subject in other threads here on this site. Search terms like marriage citizenship should get you off to a good start. Reading more recent messages will help you confirm the way to go. Good luck and congratulations again!

P.S. All the Church-married couples I know in Argentina, including some married very recently, went through their civil marriage first and then went on to their wedding in Church. I assumed that people needed to get a civil marriage certificate before they could be married in Church - isn't this the case?

Congratulations on your marriage! I hope you will be very happy together